NEW DELHI: Bharatiya Janata Party’s national executive meeting on Sunday is underway at the NDMC Convention Centre in New Delhi.
Several leaders, including Prime Minister Narendra Modi reached the venue. The PM was received by party president JP Nadda.
Union ministers Rajnath Singh, Amit Shah, Nitin Gadkari and Piyush Goyal also arrived earlier today at the NDMC Convention Centre in the national capital to take part in the meeting.
Uttar Pradesh chief minister Yogi Adityanath, who was supposed to participate virtually from Lucknow, flew to Delhi to physically attend the meeting.
While Senior party leaders LK Advani and Murli Manohar Joshi are attending the meeting virtually.
Later in the day, the Prime Minister is expected to address the party leaders present at the meeting.
Here are the key points from the meeting-
* This is the first meeting of the BJP national executive after the 2019 Lok Sabha polls.
* It started with the inaugural address of Nadda and will conclude with Prime Minister Modi’s valedictory address around 3 pm.
* The meeting is to deliberate on recent by-poll results and decide on the strategy for upcoming Assembly elections.
* Only 124 senior BJP leaders are present at the NDMC convention center.
* All the CMs and deputy CMs of the BJP ruled states, all the BJP state unit presidents and other senior leaders from the states who are part of the national executive, are virtually attending the meeting from their respective state headquarters.
* At the meeting venue, musicians from across the country played traditional instruments to greet those attending the meet.
* Prime Minister Modi while entering the venue met women, who in their traditional Chath attire and singing songs praising the Sun god, performed puja and rituals.
* The BJP’s national executive meeting, which should be normally held once in three months according to the party’s constitution, is being held for the first time since the outbreak of the Covid-19 pandemic last year.
* A condolence resolution will also be adopted in the memory of all those who lost their lives in the Covid pandemic.
* The meeting will also discuss programmes and policies to make the BJP more broad-based in order to incorporate greater sections of the society.
* An exhibition has also been organised at the venue to showcase all policies and programmes of the Modi government.
* The seven states slated to go for Assembly elections in the year 2022 are Goa, Manipur, Punjab, Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand, Himachal Pradesh and Gujarat.
(With inputs from agencies)

Source link