Bihar chunav

The Bihar Legislative Assembly election will be held to elect members to the Legislative Assembly of the Indian State of Bihar. The election will held in three phases for a total of 243 seats; the first for 71 seats on 28 October 2020, the second for 94 seats on 3 November 2020 and the third for the remaining 78 will be on 7 November 2020. The results will be announced on 10 November 2020.

Outlined in Article 168 of the Constitution of India, the Bihar Legislative Assembly is the lower house of the bicameral legislature of Bihar and not a permanent body and subject to dissolution.[1] The tenure of the Legislative Assembly is five years from the date appointed for its first sitting unless dissolved sooner. Members of the Legislative Assembly are directly elected by the people. The tenure of current Bihar Legislative Assembly is scheduled to end on 29 November 2020.

In the previous election, an alliance of three major parties consisting of Janata Dal (United), Rashtriya Janata Dal and Indian National Congress named as Mahagathbandhan won against its primary opposition, the Bharatiya Janata Party led National Democratic Alliance. However, in 2017, the Janata Dal (United) of Chief Minister Nitish Kumar left the Mahagathbandhan and joined the National Democratic Alliance.[3] While Nitish Kumar remained the Chief Minister, Sushil Kumar Modi of the Bharatiya Janata Party replaced Tejashwi Yadav as the Deputy Chief Minister.

There is an ongoing huge anti-incumbency wave  against the incumbent Chief Minister Nitish Kumar due to his 15 years long rule and supposedly poor handling of the COVID-19 induced lockdown and reverse migration of labourers from different parts of the country, like Maharashtra, Gujarat, Telangana, Punjab, Haryana.

The issues of this election revolve around giving employment to these Bihari migrant workers and improving the avenues towards industries and education. The next major party, being RJD, in Bihar is riding on this anti-incumbency wave and poor governance wave.

Source:,. ECI

By Prachi S

Prachi is a passionate writer and thinker who writes about current affairs and politics holds post graduate degree in Business Administration.